Board of Directors

Winston Chung
Chairman of the Board, Director

Inventor of Lithium iron phosphate batteries, Winston is the founder, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Thunder Sky enterprises and Winston Global Energy Co., Ltd., companies engaged in the manufacturing and sales of energy storage solutions and lithium batteries. He also serves as the People’s Republic of China national 863 lithium battery research and Development Center Director and Chief Scientist.

In 1982, he invented the first maintenance-free lead acid battery in the world; In 1989, invented the first plastic lithium ion rechargeable battery in the world; in 1995, invented the waterborne adhesive lithium-ion rechargeable battery; in 2001, he adopted the principle of human life, imitating bionics theory to successfully develop the world’s first rare-earth element lithium yttrium rechargeable battery; and in 2003, he developed the rare earth lithium sulfur rechargeable battery.

As the largest shareholder of listed companies in Hong Kong, he leads an elite team expanding clean energy research and development of products. In 2010, Winston acquired the original Fleetwood RV plant in Riverside California, renaming it MVP RV LLC.He currently serves as the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the company. In 2011, he also purchased the Krystal Koach Corporation – the world’s largest manufacturer of stretch limousines and a top builder of luxury shuttle buses, funeral cars, and security vehicles. In 2011, Winston invested $5.0 million in equity in the Balqon Corporation and currently serves as the Chairman of the Board.

Balwinder Samra
Vice Chairman of the Board, Director

Mr. Samra has been the President, Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board of Balqon California from May 2005 to the present. Prior to that, Mr. Samra was president and chief executive officer of EVI, a leading manufacturer of electric buses, trucks and trailers. From 1991 to 2000, Mr. Samra was Corporate Vice President of Taylor-Dunn Manufacturing, a leading manufacturer of electric industrial vehicles and tow tractors. At Taylor-Dunn, Mr. Samra was responsible for worldwide marketing, dealer sales and operations. Prior to Taylor-Dunn manufacturing Mr. Samra worked for Flextronics, Micropolis and Wangtek in Operations and Quality management positions. Mr. Samra holds a B. S. degree in Chemistry from Punjab University, India.

Erik Rolland


Erik Rolland was appointed as a director on August 16, 2011. Since July 1991, Dr. Rolland has been a Professor of Accounting and Information Systems at the University of California, Riverside. Dr. Rolland holds a Ph.D. in Business Administration and a M.A. in Business Administration and a B.Sc. in Computer Science Engineering from the Ohio State University. Dr. Rolland also holds a M. Sc. in Computer Science Engineering from The Norwegian Institute of Technology and a M.S. in Management and Economics from The Norwegian School of Economics and Business Administration. Dr. Rolland has conducted over 20 years of research in transportation and logistical systems and brings over 25 years of international consulting and industry experience in this area to our Board of Directors. Dr. Rolland also has experience and research in the international business and risk management areas. Dr. Rolland’s extensive academic career together with his years of experience and research in the transportation and logistical systems makes him uniquely qualified to serve as a director.